News Archives

Dr. Danda B. Rawat Receives Sustainability Grant to Design Green Networks

Dr. Danda B. Rawat, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, received a research grant from Center for Sustainability at GSU for the proposal entitled Design of High Speed Computer Networks Aimed at Reducing Energy Consumption and Carbon Emission at GSU for $31,065.40. Dr. Rawat and group of graduate and undergraduate students in CWiNs lab at GSU are working on this research to ‘design’ green networks for high speed communications and drastic reduction in energy consumption and carbon emission at GSU.

EE Department wins Sustainability Grant for Solar Vehicle Research

The Electrical Engineering department competed for and won a 2014 grant from the Student Sustainability Fee in the amount of $30,425. A team of four GSU students, Dylan Arthur, Joshua Haney, Bikiran Guha, Michael Sharp and Dr. Rami Haddad, Dr. Youakim Kalaani, and Dr. Frank Gross are leading the project. The goal of the project is retrofit over twenty university electric service golf carts with solar panels in order to allow the carts to charge throughout the day to reduce the conventional electric charging and save energy. These vehicles will represent a testimony of the effectiveness of the sustainability initiative and will increase the sustainability awareness among the GSU community. The team has also received a solar-charged golf cart donation from Club Car LLC for conducting research on sustainable energy solutions.

Club Car Solar Cart

Left to Right: Dr. Frank Gross, Dylan Arthur, Joshua Haney, Dr. Rami Haddad, Bikiran Guha, Michael Sharp with the donated solar cart from Club Car, LLC

Dr. Danda Rawat receives NSF grant

Professor Danda B. Rawat has been awarded a multi-year research grant from the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) for Real-time Opportunistic Spectrum Access in Cloud based Cognitive Radio Networks (ROAR). Dr. Rawat is currently an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and is a Founding Director of the Cyber-security,Wireless Systems & Networking Innovations (CWiNs) Lab at Georgia Southern University. For further detail about the grant, click here.

Dr. Kalaani recognized by IEEE for Service to ABET

Dr. Youakim Al Kalaani, an Associate Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at GSU, has been recognized by IEEE for his many years of service as an ABET Program Evaluator. He has participated in multiple ABET accreditation assessments at universities throughout the United States. Dr. Al Kalaani’s valuable assessment experience proved to be pivotal in the successful 2013 accreditation of Georgia Southern University’s first Electrical Engineering program.

Congratulations to Cameron Cato, 2014 Averitt Award Winner in Research

Congratulations to this year’s Averitt Award Winners!


2013-2014 Winners

Averitt Award for Excellence in Instruction – Aaron Roberts, MA English (left)
Vice President of Research – Dr. Charles Patterson, (center)
Averitt Award for Excellence in Research – Cameron Cato, MS Applied Engineering (right)

The Averitt Award is the highest honor bestowed upon graduate students within the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies. Through nominations from each department’s graduate program faculty, two semi-finalists are chosen by the Graduate Program’s Director/Coordinator, one student from each category: Excellence in Research and Excellence in Instruction. Of these semi-finalists, two students are chosen and each are bestowed a $1,000 cash prize and a Crystal Eagle trophy. This award is sponsored by the Graduate Student Organization and is named for the founder of our Graduate College, Jack N. Averitt.

Department of Electrical Engineering • P.O. Box 8045 • Statesboro, Georgia 30460 • (912) 478-5373