SIEGE Games for Health

The Georgia Southern game development team of Scott Morris and Robert McLaughlin advanced to the SIEGE Convention in Atlanta.  Of the 448 people registered to compete in the HHS Game Jam, only 16 teams were chosen to advance to the SIEGE Games for Health.  The topic of the games was HIV awareness and prevention.  Scott and Robert are students in the Department of Computer Sciences and members of the Aurora Game Development Club.

NASA at Georgia Southern

On Friday, September 19, 2014, two NASA representatives talked about the mission of the Marshall Space Flight Center with more than 70 CEIT students.  Kat Balch and Miranda Martin of NASA also discussed the many internship options for CEIT students at the Marshall Space Flight Center and other NASA facilities.


CS and IT teams prevail at Hackathon

Two Georgia Southern teams competed in the annual Rural Sourcing Inc. (RSI) Westobou Hackthon in Augusta, GA — and both placed in the top 3!  The first place team of Computer Science students Charles Arvey, Robby Bryant, Samuel Cavedo and William Holliday earned a paid internship with RSI.  The third place team comprised IT students Travis Crowe, Regina Ravuth and Renita Ravuth.

In the 2014 Hackathon, each team had four hours to create a website for a specific company, and were provided with content and a set of images.  IT team member Travis Crowe enthused: “We learned quite a bit after seeing what the other teams created and from all the help RSI’s employees provided during the competition.  Not only was this an opportunity to showcase our skills, it was a chance to network and make new friends with others in our profession.”

Dr. Gerald Jones, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Gerald Jones, Professor and Director Emeritus of Engineering Studies, died the morning Tuesday, October 7th while driving to the Georgia Southern campus to teach one of the two classes he still taught in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Dr. Jones was an aerospace engineer, having earned his degrees at Mississippi State (his Ph.D. in 1988).  He joined Georgia Southern in 1991, taught fluid mechanics courses, and established the Regents Engineering Transfer Program at Georgia Southern.

Dr. Jones was not only a great professor of Mechanical Engineering, but also a friend to the Georgia Southern community.  We extend our deepest condolences to his family and loved ones.

A memorial service for Dr. Jones will be held Saturday, October 11 at 11 a.m. in the Thompson-Strickland-Waters Funeral Home Chapel of Sylvania (912-564-2331).

Manufacturing Engineering at Georgia Southern

Georgia Southern University made history on Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014, when the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia granted the University with the first undergraduate Manufacturing Engineering degree program in the state of Georgia.

“Manufacturing is returning to the U.S., and the state of Georgia can now prepare its citizens for careers in this fast-growing field,” said Mohammad Davoud, dean of the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information Technology. “Employees trained in manufacturing will enable Georgia to attract corporations and industries to invest in the state and region. These corporations need manufacturing engineers who are trained to think innovatively and use state-of-the-art techniques and technologies. The new Manufacturing Engineering program at Georgia Southern will do just that.”

The Manufacturing Engineering program will begin accepting students in fall 2015.

College of Engineering and Information Technology • P.O. Box 7995 • Statesboro, Georgia 30460 • (912) 478-7412